The Church Ish…

 

Growing up, I was always wondering why my dad never went to church. The only time he went to church with us was when my younger sister was about four months old. It was for her dedication; a christian ritual where a new baby is brought before the almighty God. Our ancestors did such ritual. The only difference  was – the dedication was to other gods. Nevertheless, my mom was always taking us to church. At a point, I grew old enough to take myself. I even gave my life to Christ so many times, I lost counts…

 

Growing up comes with lots of things – from tapping some money off your father to striking a balance between rights and wrongs. Most times we fail; if those who taught us rights and wrongs could cook up stories to buttress their points, how far could we rightly go? So, amidst the craze coming-of-age is all about, I caught myself swaying from the preacher boy to a lost kid, to whatever I am now. Often times, people ask me how it happened, why I stopped going to church, why I started questioning the god image, how I started making jokes about bible characters, heaven and hell and everything the church is based on. The truth is, I really can’t say. We are all made up of our life experiences, temperaments, associations and learning. Upon reading Ken Katas ‘Mechanism of Sitting Down To Read’, I learnt how to sit down and study. At fourteen, I read ‘Think And Grow Rich’. Once I dropped that book, I started questioning everything I had been taught. Then I also read ‘The 48 Laws Of Power’ and ‘Rich Dad, Poor Dad’ and went mad!

 

Gaining admission to the universities didn’t help issues. I personally avoided taking a course in Philosophy so as to avoid coming across debates about god. But I was stuck with other things; literary works that questioned everything I thought life was all about. I even read a short story narrating Judas Iscariot’s involvement in Christ’s kidnap from Judas’ point of view. And soon, I caught myself googling up religion related issues. I even called Barrack Obama an anti-Christ after reading his ‘Audacity of Hopes’… These days I laugh while listening to the audio book. That dude is a visionary. Or was. Well, let’s not go into that. In December 2010, a couple of months after gaining admission into the university, I didn’t only start finding the idea of schooling ridiculous, I started making my first step to hell…

 

Over time, I kept my beliefs to myself, I only stopped going to church. Questions after questions, I started opening up. But the receptions have never been fair. Most times I laugh about it, some times I make a little quibble, other times, I really get pissed off and walk away…

 

The most disturbing of all the reactions, are the ones I get from my childhood friends when they learn I’m no longer a christian. Guess what I hate the most; the I-will-always-remember-you-in-my-prayers moment. I mean, if every prayer gets answered, the poor who are the most religious in the world would probably be manning Bill Gate’s desk in every sector of life. There would be no malaria, wars, death, diseases, mass failure in exams or loss of contracts if prayer works. Well, the bible says ‘Your prayers don’t get answered coz you pray amiss’… So, why on earth do people keep wasting their time praying for my lost soul?

 

The thing is – I really don’t see the essence in creation when everything dies at a point. I really don’t see the sense in placing a fruit in the fictional garden. If God was all knowing, he would have known that humans mess up with free-will. I mean, Christians claim he created humans, right? Any father who places a pack of poison somewhere in his apartment and warns his kid to near everything else in the house aside that, should take the blame if he finds his kid dead of poisoning on his return. It’s simple Cat’s string theory. How can’t the Omniscient god know that? I see no sense in the heaven and hell part of the story. Like really? Everyone who is not a Christian would end up in hell? Hey, find a better tale for your kids while advising them to abstain from sex. I think ‘HIV’ works these days. I really don’t see a reason to worship a god who opines I should forsake my siblings or friends simply because of their choice of worship. I see no sense in hating every Muslim simply coz instead of reading the bible or bowing in churches, they chose The Holy Koran and Mosque. I see no reason why rules in a country should be made with considerations to religious leaders. I see no sense in having someone tell me how to live my life when he hasn’t clearly figured out a way to live his. I see no sense in poor people giving out the money they should put into better use for church offering. I mean, most church general overseas are richer than all the members of their church. So, how can anyone tell me that church or religion in general is different from other life sectors; a business.

 

Maybe, I would end up in hell but come on, I really think heaven would be boring if it’s real… And I didn’t mean no disrespect; its just me doing what I love doing; pouring my heart out. Contrary to your belief, people don’t leave churches because they are depressed. Its just the same experience as becoming a christian after years of practicing Islam or the other way round. And if any part of this article gets you annoyed; you should know that’s exactly how annoyed I get when someone tries choking me with his biblical verses. In simple summary; if your life is amazing enough, you wouldn’t need to preach the gospel to any one; the glitz of your life would be enough…

 

Thank you…

 

One thought on “The Church Ish…

Leave a Reply

